Conference of Speakers of the European Union Parliaments

28-29 March 2022

Brdo Congress Centre, Brdo pri Kranju

Draft Programme (as of 18 March 2022)



Monday, 28 March 2022

9:00 - 12:00	Arrival of delegations and conference registration at the hotels
	Meeting of the Presidential Troika
12:00	Departure from the hotels
12:30 – 13:15	Meeting of the Speakers of Parliaments of the Presidential Troika (Germany, Slovenia, Czech Republic, European Parliament) <i>Venue: Brdo Congress Centre</i>
13:00	Departure of delegations from the hotels Venue: Brdo Congress Centre
14:00 – 14:30	Opening Session
	 Welcome addresses Mr Igor Zorčič, President of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia Mr Alojz Kovšca, President of the National Council of the Republic of Slovenia Adoption of the agenda Keynote Speaker Mr Borut Pahor, President of the Republic of Slovenia Ms Roberta Metsola, President of the European Parliament
14:30 – 16:00	 Session I The Role of Parliaments in Emergency Politics – Building Resilience for Democratic Governance Keynote Speakers Ms Meritxell Batet Lamaña, President of the Congress of Deputies of the Kingdom of Spain Mr Roberto Fico, President of the Chamber of Deputies of the Italian Republic Mr Tomasz Grodzki, Marshal of the Senate of the Republic of Poland Debate
16:00 – 16:30	Family photo and coffee break



16:30 – 17:30	<u>Session I</u> <i>(continues)</i> The Role of Parliaments in Emergency Politics – Building Resilience for Democratic Governance
17:30	Return to the hotels
19:30	Departure from the hotels
20:00	Dinner hosted by the President of the National Assembly and the President of the National Council Venue: Ljubljana Castle
22:30	Return to the hotels

Tuesday, 29 March 2022

- 8:15 Departure from the hotels Venue: Brdo Congress Centre
- 9:00 11:00 <u>Session II</u> European Union as the Guarantor of Stability, Security and Prosperity in the Region (and Beyond)

Guest Speaker Mr Talat Xhaferi, President of the Sobranie of the Republic of North Macedonia

Special Address (via video link) **Mr Ruslan Stefanchuk**, Chairman of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine *(TBC)*

Keynote Speakers Mr Miloš Vystrčil, President of the Senate of the Czech Republic Mr Constantine An. Tassoulas, President of the Hellenic Parliament of Greece Mr Wolfgang Sobotka, President of the National Council of the Republic of Austria

Debate

11:00 – 11:30

Coffee break



11:30 – 12:30	<u>Session II</u> (continues)
	European Union as the Guarantor of Stability, Security and Prosperity in the Region (and Beyond)
	Prospenty in the Region (and Beyond)

12:30 – 13:00 Debate and Adoption of the Conclusions

Closing remarks Mr Igor Zorčič, President of the National Assembly of the Republic of Slovenia Mr Alojz Kovšca, President of the National Council of the Republic of Slovenia

- 13:00 14:30 Lunch Venue: Brdo Estate
- 14:30 Return to the hotels & departure of delegations

